The Weeknd takes the lead with three awards

24 first winners win a JUNO statuette

TORONTO, June 4, 2021 / CNW / – The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) honored artists and industry veterans at the forefront of from Canada music scene tonight at JUNO 2021 Opening Night Awards presented by Music Canada. Hosted by CBC Angeline Tetteh Wayoe, the virtual version of the industry event unveiled the recipients of the 37 JUNO Awards, The Walt Grealis Award of Excellence and the MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador Award presented by the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation.

This year’s heavyweight was The weekend, which won three awards including Single of the Year, Songwriter of the Year presented by SOCAN and Contemporary R&B Recording of the Year. The Weeknd is also nominated for Album of the Year presented by Music Canada, Artist of the Year presented by SiriusXM Canada and JUNO Fan’s Choice presented by Freedom Mobile, all of which will be presented at the 50th edition. of the JUNO awards broadcast this Sunday.

Much of the evening’s festivities highlighted current and emerging talent, with many awards being given to first-time laureates. The list includes Crown Lands (Revolutionary Group of the Year presented by FACTOR, the government of Canada and from Canada Private Broadcasters), Jason “DaHeala” Quenneville (Songwriter of the Year presented by SOCAN), Tenille Townes (Country Album of the Year), JJ Wilde (Rock Album of the Year), Sammy jackson (Jazz vocal album of the year), Jocelyne Gould (Jazz Album of the Year: Solo), Blitz //Berlin (Instrumental album of the year), Ensemble Made In Canada (Classic Album of the Year: Solo Or Chambre), Erin Wall, Joshua Hopkins, and the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir (Classical Album of the Year: voice or choir), Samy Moussa (Classical Composition of the Year), TOBi (Rap Recording of the Year), TÖME (Reggae Recording of the Year), Shawna cain (Contemporary Christian Album / Gospel of the Year), WondaGurl (Producer of the Year Jack Richardson), Serbian Ghénéa (Sound engineer of the year), Julien Hébert, David Beauchemin, and Marc-Étienne Mongrain (Album Artwork of the Year), Emma Higgins (Music video of the year), Unleash the Archers (Metal / hard music album of the year) and Jacob Samuel (Comedy Album of the Year presented by SiriusXM Canada), and Harry Styles (International album of the year).

Full press release available here.



See original content:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.